The Society for Libyan Studies: Officers and Council


The Society is searching for a new Honorary Treasurer to start in April 2018.  This role has been undertaken with excellent efficiency and vision by Philip Kenrick since 2008.  Ideally, we would like a nominee, or nominees, for our Council meeting in October, so that the newcomer can attend subsequent council meetings to shadow Philip for the remainder of the current financial year (which ends on 31 March 2018).

Candidates should be numerate and prepared to deal with spreadsheets and to report our finances to the Council and the British Academy. But there is no requirement that they be a trained or qualified accountant.  The Treasurer is required to attend four Council meetings per year in London. But otherwise location is not important. The position is not paid, but travel and basic subsistence expenses are covered.

Any expressions of interest or enquiries for further information may be directed to:

As at December 2017 The Society for Libyan Studies Officers and Council were as follows:


President: Professor Robert Foley BA PhD FBA
Vice Presidents: Professor Graeme Barker CBE FBA FSA, Shirley Strong MBE
Chairman: Professor David Atkinson BSc PhD
Honorary Treasurer: Philip Kenrick MA DPhil
Honorary Secretary: Corisande Fenwick BA MA PhD
Head of Mission: Paul Bennett BA Hon.DLitt FSA CIfA
Editor, Libyan Studies: Professor Anna Leone MA PhD


Ahmed Buzaian MA
Emeritus Professor Charlotte Roueché MA
Salem El-Maiar BSc MBA MPhil
Ghazi Gheblawi MBBch MSc
Peter Meyer MBA MA
Marta Mirazón Lahr BA PhD
Loredana Polezzi MA PhD
Professor Wen-chin Ouyang BA BEd MA MPhil PhD
Dr William Wootton BA MPHIL DPHIL FSA

General Secretary: Pauline Graham
Honorary Librarian: Dawn Wright BA DiplLib
Publications Manager: Victoria Leitch BA MPhil DPhil

Research Grants Committee

The Chairman
The Honorary Treasurer
The Honorary Secretary
Head of Mission
Kevin MacDonald BA PhD FSA (Committee Chairman)
Saul Kelly BA PhD
Loredana Polezzi MA PhD

Publications Committee

The Chairman
The Honorary Treasurer
The Honorary Secretary
The General Secretary
Editor of Libyan Studies
Publications Manager
Russell McGuirk
Professor Wen-chin Ouyang BA BEd MA MPhil PhD

The Society President is elected at the Annual General Meeting for a term of four years; the Chairman is elected for a period of three years, which may be extended to a maximum of five years; the Honorary and General Secretaries, the Treasurer, the Head of Mission and the Editor of the Society’s Journal, Libyan Studies, are elected annually and may be re-elected without limit; the remainder of the Council is composed of up to eight Ordinary Members who are elected annually and may be re-elected, subject to a maximum continuous period of service of four years. In proposing Ordinary Members for election, the Council seeks to secure as wide a range of skills within its fields of interest as possible.

For further information about the make-up of the Society or to reach individual Officers or members of the Council, in the first instance, please contact:

Mrs Pauline Graham, General Secretary
The Society for Libyan Studies
c/o British Academy
10-11 Carlton House Terrace
London SW1Y 5AH
Tel: +44 (0) 20 3174 2412